How to Build an App: Series Introduction

Sarah Smith
4 min readFeb 14, 2021

Have you ever wondered what goes into building an app? What different kinds of apps are there? How can I get an app built?

Follow this series of blog posts (indexed below) to find out the answers to these questions and all your other questions about building mobile apps.

I’m Sarah Smith and I have been working with apps for over 20 years. I worked for Google and Nokia and then began building apps for start-ups. I’ve been a start-up Chief Technical Officer and I’ve coached start-ups. I’ve built my own apps. It’s tough!

The good news is you can succeed with your app without a lot of technical knowledge.

The most important thing is a good understanding of your business.

The most important thing in app development is not understanding tech: it’s understanding your business. This is true even if you plan for your business to flow from your app after it’s built. So if you understand your business that’s already a great start.

From there you need to know how apps work to connect your customers to your business.

Apps seem simple. You probably have some favourite apps.

But search for “How to Build an App” and you get coding videos. Not helpful for folks who want…

--

--